Beauty blooms along the way

Today I noticed the most beautiful bush beside my front door. I don’t know if it’s always been there, or if it just bloomed.

IMG_6527

When we moved into this house, it was a wreck. There was so much work to be done, and I felt like it would never get accomplished. There’s still a giant box in my living room, my wedding dress still isn’t in a dust bag, there are probably a dozen or more totes still to be unpacked or moved to the attic (which still needs to be opened and finished), and this beautiful bush is surrounded by overgrown grass and weeds. We’ve come so far fixing up our little home, and this silly little bush reminded me today that there is beauty in the progress.  I’ve never even noticed it before to know if it was beautiful then like it is now.  If it was, it’s a shame that I overlooked it amidst the chaos and mess surrounding it.

Beautiful pieces of life bloom unexpectedly when we are patient, purposeful, and joyful.  I am learning this in more ways than one during this season. I am blown away by of the season of life that I have entered. So much is changing so quickly, and each and every day I am reminded that I am not in control.

While I may not be able to control different aspects of my life, I will definitely be making more of an effort to find the beauty in the small parts of my every day life –  knowing that eventually they lead up to glorious and long awaited things. There is beauty along the journey, so much more than the end goal, and I’m learning to embrace that.

Leave a Reply

